Don’t throw your Fairies at me – Getting over going to festivals that would please a 5 year old

For those who have been to a pagan gathering somewhere in the world, or a public ritual, have you ever come across those extreme characters who appear to be all about fairies and act overly dramatic? Has their fluffy bunny behaviour irked you and made you stay away from those particular events? What about this one – has anyone approached you and said you had fairies all through your aura and that you had very pretty invisible fairy wings? These are the kind of people, while meaning well, probably just like to sound like they are important people divulging important information from the other realm, warranted or not. I picture them as the sort of people who completely immerse themselves in deviantart fairies, where you will find thousands of art pieces that soon begin to all look the same after a while.

It’s a common thing to experience these people. I don’t mind how people dress at festivals – the more colourful and inventive, the better, but don’t come over to me a treat me like a 4 year old child in a rainbow tutu. I’m not really interested in hearing what you have to say about what fairy is on your shoulder telling you something about me, my future, my aura, or a spirit guardian. I am not going to really be listening to you properly, and I will smile and nod politely. I might even say thank you, take away what you have just told me, and an hour later, promptly forget about it for the rest of my life. I may just recall what you said so I can put it into a blog post just like this one. I’ve met someone with Galloway who went on about spirit totem animals, and used it as excuses to disobey rules before a ritual. There are some things that you can keep to yourself, and still be respected. As much as I am tolerant, there are things I am often sceptical about, and what you say may be just it.

I’ve known a woman who thought she was the Queen of the Fairies. In fact, she still probably thinks she is. And she encouraged her child to tell people that it could see all peoples ‘fairy wings’ and that they were all ‘very fast.’ I personally think that if you really are in touch with any fairies, keep it to yourself unless a pixie friend of yours has some dire news for someone you know that could save their life. Most fairy lovers speak solely of the Tinkerbell sort I suppose. Don’t get me wrong, I love fairies – but not the sort that people revere, have wings and a magic wand, which are pressed upon children below the age of 9. The fairies I like are a little bit vicious and would play a grand trick on you, or chase you down if you see them dancing.  I’ve been told I had a Leprechaun hanging around me once. That I did not mind, the person who told me is not a fluffy bunny, nor does she care for any nice fairies. If I don’t know you, I’m not going to care what you have to tell me about your quasi-corporeal companions. Too many nutters out there have ruined it for me. And for you.

I think in the end, I’d rather avoid festivals like this one, because this kind of fairy festival, full of djembes and fairy wings made of panty-hose and wire, just does not appeal to me anymore. Maybe when I was a teenager, but not now, I have evolved far too much into experiences more meaningful for my spiritual path. This is far too eclectic for me. Sure, these festivals are colourful and would be an awesome experience for those who had never been to them before, but they are becoming far too common, and become the only choice for events out there. I think in the end, it’s all about what you impress upon people. There is no need to throw your experiences on people. They’ll just think you are showing off.

 

~ Daracha (showing extreme intolerance) ~

6 Comments

Filed under Paganism - General

6 responses to “Don’t throw your Fairies at me – Getting over going to festivals that would please a 5 year old

  1. Ah… Daracha (and Galloway), I really should know better by now than to follow your links. Especially to videos. What is seen cannot be unseen. 😦

    The authentic faerie traditions work in very different ways, as I am sure you know. As Terry Pratchett humorously but accurately says, the respect traditionally shown to them was as much out of fear as it was admiration. And some appear to humans as huge and stalking great figures, not waif-like nymphs.

    Though I have no research to back this up (and really how would one go about researching this) – i feel this modern pretty fairy, nice wings, grown women dressing up in costumes lark, has an implicit erotic element to it. There is something there, which i just can’t put my finger on. Similar to cosplay expect few of these folk believe their characters are REAL, unlike the faerie women (and occasional man) who graces festivals with their slightly erotic renditions of ‘faeries’.

    Thanks for this… I am sure more folk agree with you, but we can’t say it…cos… well, they’re FAERIES! It’s be like spitting on the Easter Bunny. 🙂

    • darachamelangell

      True Peregrin – it was a risky post to write, because they really are harmless people – it’s more that I’m just a bit over the cute comments made in regards to the state of my aura and which fairy has jumped onto me to heal it. I’m really only saying out loud what people are thinking, I was the one to risk saying it. I don’t mind how they dress, I just sometimes resent what things some people have to tell me – most of the time, they are not dressed as fairies, just being a little pretentious.

  2. darachamelangell

    And for you Peregrin, next time I shall post a warning sign saying video contents may cause blindness 😀

  3. I really should finish that “Poganism” article and stick it up… Would be a nice companion piece to this one. 😉

  4. Dana Corby

    Oh, thank the Gods! Someone has come out and said it! I can’t say anything like this on my own page because one of the much-loved people in my community — and otherwise a dear friend — puts on this sort of event. She _says_ she takes the Fair Folk seriously and recognizes that they’re not always sweetness and light, but then goes with the fluttery clothes (and personna,) glittery and gauzy wings — and calls the Gentry Fae-er-y. I want to tear my hair out.

Leave a Reply

